Pyin Oo Lwin was built by the British and named by them Maymyo, after Colonel May, the commander of the post and was intended as a retreat from soaring summer temperatures. The colonial presence in the town can be traced back to the end of the 19th Century when the British arrived after capturing Mandalay at the conclusion of the Third Burmese War. In 1896 a permanent military post was established in the town and it later became a hill station and the summer residence of the British Government in Burma due to its cooler temperatures. The jewel in Pyin Oo Lwin’s crown however must be the magnificent mature botanical gardens, where both locals and foreigners love to spend the day.
Pyin oo Lwin offers visitors cool days and nights, peaceful rural roads and tracks for walkers and cyclists, trekking in the fruit and flower producing countryside, and interesting shopping. Old times can be re-lived with horse drawn coach rides, and many historical and beautiful places are within easy reach, including many waterfalls.